Fresh Start

image

     You’ve probably seen the meme by now that says for children to patiently teach their parents how to use technology; after all, their parents taught them to use a toilet.  This is definitely true for me as I am something of a technophobe.  I do have a smartphone that was passed along to me, but I am certainly no expert at using it.  Lucky for me, I am sure my husband or one of my kiddos can help me figure out how to get my ramblings onto the interwebs.  Not sure if that’s lucky for you or not. 😉

     I took this photo with the phone about a week ago.  It had just stopped raining, a steamy afternoon after a flash summer storm, and my husband was driving us down the road. We had just left home and I looked over and saw the rainbow.  I definitely needed to see it.  My little family has been through a lot lately, and I always see a rainbow as a reminder of the promise from our Lord.  I am reminded of His faithfulness to us, and how He has carried us through so many things that might have torn others apart.  I am so grateful for His blessings, and even in the midst of the storm I try to hold those blessings close to my heart.

     Of course, I’m not privy to His exact plans, and I’m human and I admit I become frustrated and brokenhearted at times when life’s events spiral downward so quickly that it feels like I’m drowning in quicksand.  I don’t always give things to Him in prayer the way I should.  Learning to lean on Him can sometimes be hard when a mother is used to being “the glue.” Funny how you have to take a step back from your hopeless situation and remember that can’t solve everything yourself.

     Of noteworthy importance, I am not the most scholarly Christian you will find.  If you stumbled upon my writing expecting to find extremely well-versed teachings on The Word because the name has the word “blessed” in it, you are in for a surprise.  I won’t say in for a disappointment, because God can even work in His mysterious ways through someone like me.  I pray that He might choose to do that.  I am merely doing what a lot of others decide to do at some point – it’s time to “get some things off my chest.”

     Remember the word “broken” in the blog name?  Well, that word can be taken a lot of different ways.  Christians sometimes refer to themselves as “broken sinners, saved by grace, or something similar.  I definitely fit that category.  You’ve heard the phrase “broken spirit”, but that doesn’t describe me anymore.  It did for a while.  Broken, in this case, actually mostly refers to a family joke.  My sweet husband Tim often refers to himself as broken, because of his health.  He is disabled with Type 1 diabetes, diabetic neuropathy, and Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome.  It’s a family joke, because all four of us have actually been diagnosed with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome.  Tim and I didn’t know when we married almost 15 years ago that we both had a connective tissue disorder.  I have also been told I have fibromyalgia and I have some other health issues that are likely related to the EDS.  Our son also has Eosinophilic Esophagitis, or EoE, and is fed mostly by G tube (a tube in his belly.)  He also has quite a few anaphylactic food allergies.  He and our daughter also have asthma, eczema, and other gastrointestinal problems.  We’ve also been learning how to best live with ADHD and SPD.  I’d love to spread awareness through my words here, but I’d settle for spreading some tolerance for people who are differently abled.

We have some hobbies we enjoy, and I’m sure I will share about that here.  My daughter and I have a shared love of many things – reading, sewing, and makeup are a few of those.  My son enjoys science activities, nature, Minecraft, and Legos.  The last two I will admit I know next to nothing about, but he’s doing his best to teach me.  We do homeschool our kids, and it has been a very fun adventure so far.  My husband and I spend our time together doing such scandalous and interesting things such as going to the grocery store and doctor appointments together.  If the timing is right, we might even catch a show or two on Netflix together!  We’ll celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary in September.  God has blessed us with a beautiful relationship (that we treasure and do our best to take care of) and a beautiful family.

     I hope that my words might end up as inspiration for some, as education for others, and at least a laugh for the rest of you.

Leave a Reply

